The Kip Keino Classic was a huge success today. On May 13, 2023, sixty thousand fans, including the President of Kenya, watched six World Leaders, with Ferdinand Omanyala winning in 9.84 and Yaroslava Mahuchikh clearing 2.00 meters WL.
This piece is from EME News. 
Six WL, Omanyala 9.84, Mahuchikh 200

NAIROBI (KEN, May 13): Ferdinand Omanyala stormed to a new world lead of 9.84 (-0.5) and clear victory over Americans Kenneth Bednarek at 9.98 and Marvin Bracy at 10.03 in the 100 m at the Kip Keino Classic (WACT Gold). Fourth, Emmanuel Eseme in a new national record for Cameroon of 10.03, and PB also for Frenchman Pablo Mateo as sixth in 10.18. Ukraine’s Yaroslava Mahuchikh cleared a world-leading 200 in the high jump on her second attempt and won clearly over Great Britain‘s Laura Zialor (190). U20 Emmanuel Wanyonyi won the 800m in a world lead of 1:43.32, also MR and PB (8th best ever U20), ahead of Wycliffe Kinyamal (1:43.66) and former 1500m World champion Timothy Cheruiyot (1:44.99). New world leads also in the 1500m for U20 Reynold Kipkorir Cheruiyot in 3:32.01 over Abel Kipsang (3:32.70), and in the 3000m steeplechase for Amos Kirui in 8:08.45 ahead of Abraham Kibiwot (8:09.71) and Leonard Bett (8:10.02).

The fans at the Kip Keino Classic numbered over 60,000, photo by Sila Kiplagat.

Another world lead for Poland’s Wojciech Nowicki in the hammer with 79.78 ahead of Canada’s Ethan Katzberg (76.38) and Donat Varga of Hungary (74.12). Zambia’s Muzala Samukonga confirmed his form by winning in a new meeting record of 44.25 in the 400m ahead of Vernon Norwood of the USA (44.68) and Gilles Biron of France (45.52 PB). Big improvement and new Belgium national record in javelin for Timothy Herman with 87.35 and victory over the World champion Anderson Peters of Grenada 85.72.

Twanisha Terry had a big win at Kip Keino Classic, photo by Sila Kiplagat

Twanisha Terry of the USA won the 100m in windy 10.86w (2.5) over New Zealand’s Zoe Hobbs (10.97w) and surprisingly third Rani Rosius of Belgium (11.08w), and Sha’Carri Richardson the 200m in a new MR of 22.07 (1.7, easing in last 30 m) over Kyra Jefferson (22.77). Americans Janee Kassanavoid (74.25) and Janeah Stewart (71.43) outperformed the hammer WR holder Anita Wlodarczyk of Poland (70.27, first competition after surgery).

Sha’Carri Richardson won the 200m going away, in 22.07, photo by Sila Kiplagat

Aaron Brown of Canada won the 200m in 20.12 (0.9) and defeated Kyree King of the USA (20.18), Liberia’s Joseph Fahnbulleh (20.19, after a bad start), and Filippo Tortu of Italy (20.30). Uganda’s Janat Chemusto won the 1500m in 4:01.79 over Nelly Chepchirchir (4:04.56), PB for both.

Baetrice Chebet wins the 5000 meters, photo by Sila Kiplagat

Another victory for Kenya’s runners in the 3000m steeple for Beatrice Chepkoech (9:13.51) over Faith Cherotich (9:15.08), and Mary Moraa in the 800m (1:58.83). 5000m victories for Beatrice Chebet in 15:15.82 and Ethiopia’s Lemi Teddese in 13:26.58. Daniel Simiyu won the national 10 000 m in 28:09.93, and Wiseman Were 49.59 in the national 400 m hurdles. Among the guests at the full stadium also Kenyan President William Ruto and athletics legends John Carlos and Kevin Young.

Yaroslava Mahuchikh wins HJ, clears WL of 2.00 meters, photo by Sila Kiplagat