The Adrian Martinez Classic is one of my favorite meets. I attended it for several years. The meet is held in honor of Adrian Martinez, a young man who loved soccer and running and died way too early.

For many years, I would fly in and enjoy the meeting, seeing so many of my sports friends who came to show support for Adrian and the Martinez family.

Stephen Lane puts on this meet, and it is a labor of love. This year, Elle Purrier St. Pierre, Emily Mackay, Heather MacLean, Katrina Coogan and Erika Kemp are among the elite athletes preparing for the upcoming US Olympic Trials.

Streaming is free, and the entry lists are linked at the bottom of this article.

The 2024 Adrian Martinez is here! 

The 2024 Adrian Martinez Classic is right around the corner. On Saturday, June 8, Olympians and Olympic dreamers will take to the track in Concord, MA—many for their final race before the US Olympic Trials.


This year’s high-performance sections will feature a number of familiar faces from past years, including World Indoor Champion Ellie Purrier St. Pierre, World Indoor Bronze Medalist Emily Mackay, Heather MacLean, Abbey Cooper, Katrina Coogan, Erika Kemp, Annie Rodenfels, Bethany Hasz, Ellie Shea, Aidan Ryan, and Jack Salisbury. Newcomers to this year’s Martinez Classic include Ellie Leather, Esther Gitahi, Alma Cortes, Shane Streich, and DJ Principe.


As the above list demonstrates, the women’s fields are particularly strong this year. In all the races, athletes are either targeting the Olympic A standard, looking for a quick tuneup before the Trials, or seeking to better their ranking in one final race before the Trials qualifying window closes on June 9.


The final fields and schedule will be released early next week. The full meet will be streamed live on Bay State Running, and the elite races will be from 6 to 8 p.m. The 2024 Adrian Martinez Classic is sponsored by the Boston Athletic Association, Marathon Sports, and Wellness in Motion.

Community races begin at 4pm; High Performance sections at 6.
Livestream on BSR:

Link for entry lists: 2024MartinezClassicHPStartlists