This is my daily chat with #RunBlogRun viewers and track fans on all things track & field!

This is Coffee With Larry, our first 2024 podcast! Today is Tuesday, January 2, 2024.

Our topics!

1. The 2024 Dubai Marathon is less than one week away, and the Streaming TV will be hosted by Paula Radcliffe, former WR holder in the marathon, LA 1984 4th placer in 5000m, Tim Hutchings, well-known athletics broadcaster, and journalist Pat Butcher.

2. The broadcast will go live at 5.50 AM in Dubai on January 7, which is 9:50 PM NYC time (January 6), 8:50 PM Chicago time (January 6), and 6:50 PM West Coast time (January 6, 2024).

3. The link for 2024 Dubai notifications is https://youtube.com/live/mQo6ka541Hw?feature=share. Sign up and get a notification for when the broadcast begins in your part of the world!

Dubai Banner for Streaming TV, from Dubai Marathon

4. Courtney Frerichs, 2017 WC silver medalist at the steeplechase and AR holder in the steeple, has left #BowermanTC and moved to the East Coast to be coached by Alistair and Amy Hastings Cragg. Kudos to both Courtney and Bowerman on the class that they showed in their parting announcement.

Courtney Frerichs, Mixed Zone, 2022 WC, photo by Jeff Benjamin

5. Astana, Kazakhstan, will be hosting the first #WorldAthleticsIndoorGoldTour stop in Asia on January 27, 2024.

6. Tickets are available for #NBIndoorGrandPrix on February 4, 2024 at #NBIndoorGrandPrix.

7. The USATF Indoor Athletics Champs, the trials for the #WorldIndoorChamps in Glasgow, will be held in Albuquerque, New Mexico, on February 16-17, 2024.

Aleia Hobbs takes 60m AR, 2023 USATF Indoor Track & Field Championship
Albuquerque, New Mexico 2023-02-18
photo credit: © 2023 Kevin Morris

8. The U.S. Olympic Marathon Trials, to be held in Orlando, Flordia on February 3, 2024, should be an amazing event. https://www.usatf.org/events/2024/2024-u-s-olympic-team-trials-%E2%80%94-marathon

9. Thanks for reading my column on NIKE’s current challenges, which I believe were all self-created by ignoring the signs and can be cured with listening to the culture and industry. https://www.runblogrun.com/2023/12/89528.html.

The NIKE Oregon Waffle, a personal pair of the late Steve Prefontaine, is up for auction. Bids close September 15, 2022, by Sotheby’s.

See you tomorrow at 10 AM Central on Wednesday, January 3, 2024.

#CoffeewithLarry, #Ethiopia, #Kenya, #DubaiMarathon, #adidasrunning, #NBIndoorGrandPrix, #MillroseGames, #AstanaIndoorMeeting,

​ 

By